

Private Bag X147, Pretoria, 0001 Tel: (012) 999 5200 - Fax: (012) 991 0371 Eco Origin Office Park, Block F, 349 Witch-Hazel Street, Highveld Ext 79, Centurion

3400 CP 68

To : All Media Issued : Tuesday, 23 January 2018 Attention: News Editors / Transport Reporters / PR Wires

R T M

С

Traffic Officers arrested in Polokwane

PRESS RELEASE

A total of 10 traffic officers were arrested in Polokwane today as part of Operation Siyabangena to deal with bribery and corruption in the traffic law enforcement fraternity.

The arrests followed intensive investigations by the Road Traffic Management Corporation's National Traffic Anti-Corruption Unit together with the Directorate of Priority Crime Investigations (The Hawks).

The suspects are employed by the Limpopo provincial department of transport and the Polokwane municipality.

They have been held at Polokwane police station and are expected to appear in court before the end of the week to apply for bail.

Allegations against them are that they took bribes from motorists who had failed to obey the rules of the road.

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Mathabathe, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Acting Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative

Traffic Officers arrested in Polokwane

The number of suspects arrested in Limpopo in connection with bribery and corruption since December now stands at 30.

Last month 20 suspects, including traffic officers, licensing officers and their civilian collaborators, were arrested in Tzaneen and surrounding areas.

Investigations are continuing and more suspects may be arrested.

Members of the public are called upon to report bribery and corruption on 0861 400 800.

Issued by: Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC)

Eco Origin Office Park, Block F

349 Which Hazel Street, Highveld Ext 79, Centurion

www.rtmc.co.za

Spokesperson- Simon Zwane: (082) 551 9892

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Mathabathe, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Acting Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative